The ultimate dictionary of marketing terms to know

The ultimate dictionary of marketing terms to know

Here, on the HubSpot blog, we wrote glossary articles that cover some of the key components of inbound marketing. We covered social media terms, content marketing terms, marketing terms, email marketing terms website optimization terms, and so on. 19659003] Well, we thought it was time to create a blog article that could serve as a glossary of holistic marketing – a glossary that not only defines each term, but also offers helpful resources in case you'd like deepen your knowledge. We hope you can put this post in your favorites and come back when you need it.

Now, I'm not a genius, but when you try to create a topic-based glossary with sub-categories of glossaries, well, that's a lot of brilliance. So, instead of running hundreds of terms in all other glossaries, I've limited myself to the 99 most important terms for those who are learning marketing.


1. A / B Test

This process involves comparing two variations of a single variable to determine which ones work best in order to improve marketing efforts. This is often done in email marketing (with variations in the subject line or copy), calls to action (color variations or verbiage) and landing pages ( variations in content). Aside from marketing, you can use it to determine what's best on a peanut butter sandwich: jelly or stuffed animals. (Find out how to run the A / B tests here.)

2. Analytics

What I sometimes call the "eyes" of incoming marketing, the analysis is basically the discovery and communication of significant patterns in the data. When referenced in the context of marketing, it examines the data of its initiatives (reports of site visitors, social networks, sponsored links, etc.), analyzes trends and develops actionable information for making decisions. better informed marketing. (You want to learn marketing analytics? Here is a list of nine great sources to get you started.)

3. Application Programming Interface (API)

APIs are a series of computer programming rules that allow an application to extract information from a service and use that information in their own application or in data analysis. It's a bit like a phone for applications to have conversations – an API literally calls an application and gets information to use in your software. APIs facilitate the data needed to provide solutions to customer problems.

HubSpot has APIs that developers use to get information from our software in theirs. It is important for marketers to understand what APIs can do to integrate them into their marketing strategies. To learn more about how marketers can use APIs here


4. B2B (Business-to-Business)

An adjective used to describe companies that sell to other companies. For example, Google and Oracle are primarily B2B companies.

5. B2C (Business-to-Consumer)

An adjective used to describe businesses that sell directly to consumers. For example, Amazon, Apple and Nike are mainly B2C companies.

6. Blogging

This is the abbreviation of web log or blog. An individual or group of people usually maintains a blog. A personal blog or business blog will traditionally include regular entries of comments, descriptions of events or other items, such as photos and videos.

The blog is an essential component of inbound marketing because it can run multiple initiatives simultaneously. growth of website traffic, thought leadership and lead generation. It does not do your taxes.

7. Business Blogging

Professional blogs retain all the attributes of "classic" blogs, but add an interesting marketing strategy layer. It helps marketers drive traffic to their website, convert that traffic into leads, establish authority over certain topics, and generate long-term results. (Check out these benefits in more detail here.)

When creating blogs for a business, marketers need to create optimized publications with keywords sought by their target audience and provide useful educational materials to those readers. . In general, these blog posts must be exploitable (by offering a downloadable and optional offer), to provide a measure of the effectiveness of professional blogs.

8. At the bottom of the funnel

Since we are going in alphabetical order, the last part of the funnel process is the first! So, I guess. The bottom part of the funnel refers to a stage of the buying process that leads when these customers are about to become new customers. They have identified a problem, looked for possible solutions and are about to buy.

Typically, the following steps for prospects are a call from a sales representative, a demonstration or a free consultation – depending on the type of business that is trying to close the track.

9. Bounce Rate

Website Bounce Rate: The percentage of people who access a page on your website, then leave without clicking anything or accessing other pages on your site. A high bounce rate usually results in poor conversion rates because nobody stays on your site long enough to read your content or convert it to a landing page (or any other conversion event).

an email could not be delivered to the inbox of a recipient. A high bounce rate usually means that your lists are obsolete or purchased, or that they contain many invalid e-mail addresses. In email, all bounces are not bad, so it's important to distinguish between direct bounces and bounces before removing an email address from your list. (Learn more about hard and soft rebounds here.)

10. Buyer Persona

A semi-fictional representation of your ideal customer based on a market research and real data about your existing customers. While it helps marketers like you define their target audience, it can also help salespeople qualify prospects. (To learn more about the development of buying personalities here.)


11. Call-to-Action

A call to action is a text link, button, image, or type of web link that encourages a website visitor to visit a landing page and become a leader . Some examples of CTAs are "subscribe now" or "download the white paper today." They are important to marketers because they are the "baits" that cause a website visitor to become a leader. So, you can imagine that it is important to convey a very attractive and valuable offer on a call to action to better favor the conversion of one visitor to another. (Download our free introductory guide to effective calls for action here. Hey, that was a CTA!)


CAN-SPAM means "controlling the aggression of unsolicited pornography and marketing". It's a US law passed in 2003 that sets the rules for commercial e-mail and commercial messages, gives recipients the right to ask a company to stop sending them by e-mail and describes the penalties for those who violate the law. For example, CAN-SPAM is the reason why companies must have an "unsubscribe" option at the bottom of every email. (Learn more about the details here.)

13. CASL

CASL stands for "Canadian anti-spam legislation". This is a Canadian law passed in 2013 that covers the sending of "commercial electronic messages" that a computer can access in Canada. CASL covers e-mail, text, instant messages and automated cell phone messages sent to computers and phones in Canada. (Learn more about the details here.)

14. Termination Rate

A measure that measures how many customers you keep and at what value. To calculate the churn rate, take the number of customers you have lost during a given period and divide it by the total number of customers you had at the very beginning of that period. (Do not include new sales from this period.)

For example, if a company had 500 customers in early October and only 450 customers by the end of October. (discounting closed customers in October), their churn rate would be: (500-450) / 500 = 50/500 = 10%.

The termination rate is an important measure mainly for recurring companies. Regardless of your monthly earnings, if your average customer does not stay long enough to help you minimize the cost of acquiring your customers, you have problems.

15. Clickthrough Rate (CTR)

Percentage of your audience that advances (or clicks) a portion of your website to the next step of your marketing campaign. As a mathematical equation, the total number of clicks received by your page or CTA is divided by the number of opportunities that users must click on (eg: number of pageviews, emails sent, etc. .)

16. Closed Loop Marketing

The practice of closed loop marketing is to be able to execute, track and show the impact of marketing efforts on the growth of the business. An example would be tracking a visitor to a website that would become the main point of contact when it will close as a customer.

Once correctly done, you will be able to see how much of your marketing investments have generated new contracts. growth. One of the key business benefits of implementing an inbound marketing strategy and using inbound marketing software is the ability to run closed-loop marketing.

17. Conversion Path

A conversion path is a series of web-based events that facilitate the capture of lead. In its simplest form, a conversion path will consist of a call to action (usually a button describing an offer) leading to a landing page with a lead capture form, which redirects to a thank you page where a content is proposed. resides. In exchange for his contact information, a website visitor gets a content offer to better help them in the process of purchase. If you still have trouble understanding the subject based on this description, feel free to think of it as a rabbit hunt analogy in comic form.

18. Content

With respect to inbound marketing, content is an element of information intended to be digested (not literally), used and shared. The content is usually in the form of a blog, a video, a publication on social networks, a photo, a slideshow or a video. a podcast, although there are many types on the market. From website traffic to conversion to customer marketing, content plays a vital role in the success of the inbound marketing strategy.

19. Content Management System (CMS)

Web application designed to facilitate the creation, modification and management of a website by non-technical users. Helps users to edit content and work better behind the scenes, like making content searchable and indexable, automatically generating navigation items, keeping track of users and permissions, and more.

(At HubSpot, we think COS CMS, find out why.)

20. Content Optimization System (COS)

A COS is basically a CMS (Content Management System), but optimized to offer customers the most personalized web experience possible. (Learn more about HubSpot's COS here.)

21. Context

If the content is king, the context is queen. It is important to serve valuable content, but it is equally important, if not more important, to ensure that it is personalized for the right audience. As buyers become more familiar with the information they digest (again, not literally), it is important to provide contextually relevant content. If you own a restaurant, you would not want to send a coupon for a steak dinner to a vegetarian, right? Unless you are anti-herbivorous, of course …

22. Conversion rate

Percentage of people who performed a desired action on a single web page, for example, by completing a form. Pages with high conversion rates work well, while low conversion pages have poor results.

23. Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO)

Process of improving the conversion of your site with the help of design techniques, key principles of optimization and testing. This involves creating an experience for visitors to your website that will convert them into customers. The CRO is most often applied to the optimization of web pages or landing pages, but it can also be applied to social media, CTAs and other parts of your marketing. (Read more here.)

24. Cost-per-Lead (CPL)

The amount that your marketing organization costs to acquire a potential interest. This has a huge impact on the cost of customer acquisition (CAC), and marketers need to keep a close eye on this.

25. Outsourced Content

Creating your own content may take longer than you need to provide. That's where crowdsourcing comes in. Allowing subject matter experts, customers or freelancers to create your content for you is a great way to publish more quality content in less time. Compile the content you get into a really great offer and give credit to all contributors – a win-win for everyone involved. (Find out how to create a blog post with Google Docs here.)

26. Cost of Customer Acquisition (CAC)

The total cost of your sales and marketing. To calculate the CAC, follow these steps for a given period (month, quarter or year):

  1. Add-to program or ad spend + wages + commissions + bonus + overhead.
  2. Divided by the number of new clients in

For example, if you spend $ 500,000 on sales and marketing in a given month and you add 50 clients in the same month, your CAC was 10 $ 000 that month. (Read more here.)

27. Customer Relationship Management (CRM)

Software package that allows companies to track everything they do with their existing and potential customers.

At the simplest level, the CRM software allows you to track all the contact information for these customers. But customer relationship management systems can also do a lot of other things, such as tracking emails, phone calls, faxes, and transactions. sending personalized e-mails; making appointments; and register each instance of customer service and support. Some systems also incorporate social media feeds such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and others. (Learn more here.)

28. CSS

CSS stands for Cascading Style Sheets and that is what gives style to your entire website, such as colors, fonts and images. ;background. This affects the mood and tone of a web page, making it an incredibly powerful tool. This is also what allows websites to adapt to different screen sizes and to different types of devices. (Learn more about CSS, HTML and JavaScript here.)


29. Dynamic Content

A way to display different posts on your website based on information you already know about the visitor. For example, you can use smart CTAs so that new visitors can see a personalized CTA (perhaps with a premium offer) and those who already appear in your database see a different CTA for more. information about your product or service). You can read this article to learn more about dynamic content.


30. Ebook

Ebooks are a common type of content that many marketers often use to generate leads. This is usually a longer type of content than, for example, blog posts, and to examine a topic in detail. Here is an awesome ebook on how to write an ebook (if meta).

31. Editorial Calendar

It's like a road map for content creation, showing you what kind of content to create, what topics to cover, who to target and how often to publish to better support your strategy. Maintaining an editorial calendar will help you stay organized and show you any gaps in your content library. It also allows you to make sure that you are doing the right things for your personality and that you are not moving away from the topics you are addressing. (You do not have a proper calendar yet? Check out this free and pre-designed editorial calendar template.)

32. Email

In its simplest sense, email means "email". It is an essential component of marketing because it constitutes a direct connection to the inbox of a contact. However, with great power, there is a great responsibility, which means that it is important for marketers not to abuse the relationship by email with a contact. It's too easy for a contact to click on "unsubscribe" after gaining confidence in your communication. Do not blow it

33. Engagement rate

A popular metric of social media used to describe the amount of interaction – I like, share, comment – a content receives. Such interactions tell you that your messages resonate with your fans and followers. (Click here for reference rates for commitments for different sectors.)

34. Contents of Evergreen

Evergreen's content is content that continues to provide value to readers, regardless when discovers it. In other words, it can be referenced long after its initial publication, and even in this case, it remains valuable to the reader. This article on how to write blog articles is a great example.

As a general rule, a piece of evergreen content is timeless, valuable, high quality, canonical or definitive. These articles are usually the best friend of a content marketer because of the huge SEO value that they provide. (Learn more about the evergreen content and why it is important here.)


35. Facebook

Facebook is a social network that you probably already know, but it has become much more than a simple platform for publishing content and gaining followers. You can now use the great targeting options available through Facebook advertising to find and attract new contacts to your website and get them to convert to your landing pages … but remember that you still need great content .

This is an essential part of any marketing strategy, it should not be the only component. By focusing entirely on Facebook (or any other important social channel), you will only receive a small portion of the incoming marketing pie. And it's still hot, so be careful. (Download our free guide on using Facebook for business here.)

36. Form

The place where visitors to your page will provide information in exchange for your offer. It's also how these visitors can convert into valuable sales leads. As a best practice, only ask your prospects for the information you need to track and / or qualify them effectively. (Read this article to find out what you should or should not ask for on your landing page forms.)

37. Friction

Anything on your website that is confusing, distracting or stressful to visitors, causing them to leave your page. Examples of elements that cause friction include dissonant colors, too much text, the distraction of Web site navigation menus, or landing page forms with too many fields. (Learn more about identifying and fixing friction here.)


38. Google+

Google+ ("Google Plus") is a social network that lets you join and create circles where you can connect family members, friends, colleagues, and colleagues. Although you can use it as other social networks – to publish and share content and generate new leads – it also offers content marketers considerable SEO value because increasing importance of social sharing in search engine algorithms. (It belongs to Google, after all.)


39. Hashtag

Hashtags are a way for you and your readers to interact with each other on social networks and to have conversations about a particular content. They connect public conversations on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram in one stream, which users can find by searching for a hashtag, clicking on one of them or using a third-party monitoring tool such as the Social HubSpot inbox.

are simply a key phrase, spelled without spaces, with a hash sign (#) in front of it – like #InboundChat and #ChocolateLovers. You can put these hashtags anywhere in your posts on social networks. (For more information on using hashtags on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, click here.)

40. HTML

This is the abbreviation of HyperText Markup Language, a language used to write web pages. It is at the heart of every web page, regardless of the complexity of a site or the number of technologies involved, and provides the basic structure of the site – which is then enhanced and modified by other technologies such as: than CSS and JavaScript. (Download our free HTML guide here to learn some simple and useful HTML coding tips.)


41. Inbound Marketing

Inbound marketing refers to marketing activities that attract visitors in, rather than having to attract the attention of prospects. Above all, it involves attracting the attention of customers, which facilitates online research and attracts customers to the website by producing interesting and useful content. By aligning the content you publish with the interests of your customers, you naturally attract incoming traffic that you can then convert, close and delight over time. (Learn more about marketing entering here.)

42. Incoming Link

An incoming link is a link from another site to your own website. Inbound is usually used by the person receiving the link. For example, here is an incoming link to the blog of our co-founder Dharmesh. Dharmesh could say, "I've received an incoming link from HubSpot."

Web sites that receive many inbound links are more likely to rank higher in the search engines. They also help people to receive referral traffic from other websites. (Learn more about the inbound links here.)

43. Infographic

A highly visual content element popular among digital marketers to convey complex concepts in a simple and visual way. (Learn more about how to create a knockout infographic here.)

44. Instagram

Although initially a haven only for younger generations who wanted to publish, edit, and share unique photos, Instagram has become a leading social network, a viable opportunity for content marketers. Many companies take advantage of the site by posting industry-related photos that their subscribers and customers would like to see. (Download our free guide on using Instagram for business or read this blog post for our favorite Instagram tips and tricks.)


45. JavaScript

Mix ¼ oz of coffee liqueur with an espresso at once … nah, I laugh. JavaScript is a programming language that allows web developers to design interactive sites. Most of the dynamic behavior you will see on a web page is due to JavaScript, which increases the default controls and behaviors of a browser.

JavaScript Uses: pop-up windows, built-in calls to action, creating a security password, checking forms, interactive games and special effects. It is also used to create mobile applications and create server-based applications. (Learn more about JavaScript, HTML and CSS here.)


46. Key Performance Indicator (KPI)

A type of performance measure that companies use to evaluate the success of an employee or an activity. Marketers are reviewing key performance indicators to track progress in achieving marketing goals, and successful marketers are constantly benchmarking their performance against industry standard metrics. Examples of key performance indicators include CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost), blog traffic sources, and home page views. Choose key performance indicators that represent the performance of your marketing and your business. (Here are some tips for choosing the right KPIs for your business.)

47. Keyword

Sometimes called keywords, keywords are the topics indexed by web pages in search engine results such as Google, Yahoo and Bing.

Choosing keywords to optimize a web page is a two-part effort. First of all, you want to make sure that the keyword has a large search volume and that it is not too difficult to rank it. Then you will want to make sure that it is aligned with your target audience.

After choosing the keywords you want to rank, you will need to optimize the appropriate pages on your website both on and off the page. tactical. Which ones do you ask? Go to "O" to find out – but do not say "L", "M" or "N"! (Learn how to do keyword research for natural referencing here.)


48. Page de destination

Une page de destination est une page Web contenant un formulaire utilisé pour la génération de pistes. Cette page s'articule autour d'une offre marketing, telle qu'un ebook ou un webinaire, et sert à capturer les informations relatives aux visiteurs en échange de la précieuse offre. Les pages de destination sont les gardiens du chemin de conversion et séparent un visiteur du site Web de

Un acheteur intelligent entrant crée des pages de destination qui font appel à différentes personnes (pluriel pour persona) à différentes étapes du processus d'achat. Un effort considérable sans doute, mais qui porte ses fruits. (Téléchargez cet ebook pour en savoir plus sur les pages de destination et comment les optimiser.)

49. Plomb

Personne ou entreprise qui manifeste un intérêt pour un produit ou un service d'une manière ou d'une autre. Peut-être ont-ils rempli un formulaire, souscrit à un blog ou partagé leurs coordonnées en échange d'un coupon.

La génération de leads est un élément critique du parcours d'un prospect pour devenir un client et se situe entre les deuxième et troisième étapes de la méthodologie de marketing entrant plus importante, que vous pouvez voir ci-dessous.


Les pages de destination, les formulaires, les offres et les appels à l'action ne sont que quelques outils pour aider les entreprises à générer pistes. (En savoir plus sur la génération de leads ici.)

50. Lead Nurturing

Parfois appelé «marketing au goutte-à-goutte», la pratique du plomb consiste à développer une série de communications (e-mails, messages sur les médias sociaux, etc.) visant à qualifier l'entonnoir de vente. Le marketing entrant consiste à fournir un contenu de valeur au public cible – et la gestion des prospects contribue à ce résultat en fournissant des informations contextuelles à un prospect au cours des différentes étapes du cycle de vie de l’achat.

51. LinkedIn

LinkedIn est un site de réseautage social axé sur les affaires. Lancé en mai 2003, il est principalement utilisé pour les réseaux professionnels. De nos jours, avec plus de 414 millions de membres inscrits, 1945 est le réseau social le plus populaire parmi les professionnels et un des principaux réseaux sociaux. La plate-forme, le développement d'un profil complet et la mise en réseau ont aidé de nombreux demandeurs d'emploi à trouver du travail. (Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur l'utilisation de LinkedIn pour le réseautage professionnel, les affaires et le marketing.)

52. Stades du cycle de vie

Ces divisions servent à décrire la relation que vous avez avec votre public et peuvent généralement être divisées en trois étapes: sensibilisation, évaluation et achat.

Ce qui est important à comprendre à propos de chacune de ces étapes est que chaque élément de contenu que vous créez n’est pas approprié, en fonction de l’étape à laquelle votre public risque de tomber à ce moment-là. C'est la raison pour laquelle le contenu dynamique est si génial que vous pouvez proposer du contenu adapté à chaque étape du visiteur. (Pour en savoir plus sur la manière de mapper le contenu aux étapes du cycle de vie, cliquez ici.)

Valeur à vie (LTV)

Prédiction du bénéfice net attribué à l’ensemble de la relation future avec un client. Pour calculer LTV, suivez ces étapes pour une période donnée:

  1. Prenez le chiffre d'affaires que le client vous a payé pendant cette période.
  2. Soustrayez de ce nombre la marge brute.
  3. Divisez par le taux de désabonnement estimé (aka

Par exemple, si un client vous verse 100 000 dollars par an lorsque votre marge brute sur le chiffre d’affaires est de 70% et que ce type de client est censé s’annuler à 16% par an, alors le LTV du client. est de 437 500 $. (En savoir plus ici.)

54. Mot-clé à longue queue

Un mot-clé à longue queue est une phrase de recherche très ciblée qui contient trois mots ou plus. Il contient souvent un terme principal, qui est un terme de recherche plus générique, plus un ou deux mots supplémentaires qui affinent le terme de recherche. Par exemple:

  • Terme générique: licorne
  • Mots-clés long-tail: jeux de licorne en ligne, costumes de licorne pour enfants, vidéos de licorne sur YouTube

à partir d'une recherche longue, les termes sont plus qualifiés et, par conséquent, plus susceptibles d'être convertis.

55. LTV: CAC

Le rapport entr e la valeur de durée de vie (LTV) et le coût d'acquisition client (CAC). Une fois que vous avez le LTV et le CAC, calculez le ratio des deux. Si l'acquisition d'un client avec un LTV de 437 500 $ vous coûte 100 000 $, votre LTV: CAC est de 4,4 à 1


56. L'automatisation du marketing

Bien qu'il y ait un certain chevauchement avec le terme "développement de prospects", l'automatisation du marketing est un peu différente. Pensez à l'automatisation du marketing en tant que plate-forme avec des outils et des analyses associés pour développer une stratégie de développement de prospects. Si vous me permettez de réaliser une analogie avec l'art, l'automatisation du marketing est le pinceau, l'aquarelle et la toile vierge. L'éducation au plomb est l'artiste qui fait tout ensemble. Comme Bob Ross! Vous ne pouvez pas peindre une petite campagne de soutien heureuse sans les deux.

Bonus: Vous voulez obtenir une super maîtrise de votre terminologie d'automatisation marketing? Passez à la vitesse supérieure avec l'automatisation du marketing basée sur le comportement. L'automatisation du marketing basée sur les comportements fait référence à un système qui déclenche des e-mails et d'autres communications en fonction de l'activité de l'utilisateur sur et hors de votre site. Il permet aux spécialistes du marketing de développer des prospects et de leur envoyer des informations uniquement lorsque cela est le plus pertinent pour leur phase du cycle d'achat.

57. Microsite

Un croisement entre une page de destination et un site "régulier". is a great example. Microsites are used when marketers want to create a different online experience for their audience separate from their main website. These sites often have their own domain names and distinct visual branding. (Here's a list of 11 of the best microsite examples out there.)

58. Middle of the Funnel

This refers to the stage that a lead enters after identifying a problem. Now they’re looking to conduct further research to find a solution to the problem. Typical middle of the funnel offers include case studies or product brochures — essentially anything that brings your business into the equation as a solution to the problem the lead is looking to solve. Also, if you want to be cool, you can refer to this stage as “MOFU” for short.

59. Mobile Marketing

With mobile search queries officially surpassing desktop queries, now is probably the time to explore mobile marketing. What is it? Well, mobile marketing refers to the practice of optimizing marketing for mobile devices to provide visitors with time- and location- sensitive, personalized information for promoting goods, services, and ideas.

60. Mobile Optimization

Mobile optimization means designing and formatting your website so that it’s easy to read and navigate from a mobile device. This can be done by either creating a separate mobile website or incorporating responsive design in initial site layout. Google's algorithm now rewards mobile-friendly websites, so if your site isn't fully optimized for mobile devices, you will likely see a hit to your ranking on mobile searches. (Learn how to make your website mobile-friendly here.)

61. Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR)

The amount of revenue a subscription-based business receives per month. Includes MRR gained by new accounts (net new), MRR gained from upsells (net positive), MRR lost from downsells (net negative), and MRR lost from cancellations (net loss).


62. Native Advertising

A type of online advertising that takes on the form and function of the platform it appears on. Its purpose is to make ads feel less like ads, and more like part of the conversation. That means it's usually a piece of sponsored content that's relative to the consumer experience, isn't interruptive, and looks and feels similar to its editorial environment.

Native advertising can come in many forms, whether it's radio announcers talking favorably about a product sponsoring the show, or an article about a product or company showing up in your news source. Here are examples of some of the best native advertising out there.

63. Net Promoter Score (NPS)

A customer satisfaction metric that measures, on a scale of 0-10, the degree to which people would recommend your company to others. The NPS is derived from a simple survey designed to help you determine how loyal your customers are to your business.

To calculate NPS, subtract the percentage of customers who would not recommend you (detractors, or 0-6) from the percent of customers who would (promoters, or 9-10).

Regularly determining your company’s NPS allows you to identify ways to improve your products and services so you can increase the loyalty of your customers. Learn more about how to use NPS surveys for marketing here.

64. News Feed

A news feed is an online feed full of news sources. On Facebook, the News Feed is the homepage of users' accounts where they can see all the latest updates from their friends. (Learn all about Facebook's News Feed here.) The news feed on Twitter is called Timeline.

65. No-Follow Link

A no-follow link is used when a website does not want to pass search engine authority to another webpage. It tells search engine crawlers not to follow or pass credit to linked websites as a way to avoid association with spammy content or inadvertently violating webmaster guidelines. To varying degrees, the no-follow attribute is recognized by all major search engines, like Google, Yahoo, and Bing. Not all links (and linking domains) are created equal, and a no-follow attribute helps avoid any foul play.


66. Offer

Offers are content assets that live behind a form on a landing page. Their primary purpose is to help marketers generate leads for your business. There are many different types of offers you could create, including ebooks, checklists, cheat sheets, webinars, demos, templates, and tools. (If you need help putting together some high-quality offers your buyer personas will love, take some time to read over this post.)

67. On-Page Optimization

This type of SEO is based solely on a webpage and the various elements within the HTML (see “H” if you skipped here directly). Ensuring that key pieces of the specific page (content, title tag, URL, and image tags) include the desired keyword will help a page rank for that particular phrase.

68. Off-Page Optimization

This is the free-spirited cousin of on-page optimization. Off-page SEO refers to incoming links and other outside factors that impact how a webpage is indexed in search results. Factors like linking domains and even social media play a role in off-page optimization. The good news is that it’s powerful; the not so good news is that it’s mostly out of an inbound marketer’s control. The solution? Create useful, remarkable content and chances are people will share and link to it.


69. Page View

A request to load a single web page on the internet. Marketers use them to analyze their website and to see if any change on the webpage results in more or fewer page views.

70. Pay-per-Click (PPC)

The amount of money spent to get a digital advertisement clicked. Also an internet advertising model where advertisers pay a publisher (usually a search engine, social media site, or website owner) a certain amount of money every time their ad is clicked. For search engines, PPC ads display an advertisement when someone searches for a keyword that matches the advertiser's keyword list, which they submit to the search engine ahead of time.

PPC ads are used to direct traffic to the advertiser's website, and PPC is used to assess the cost effectiveness and profitability of your paid advertising campaigns.

There are two ways to pay for PPC ads:

  • Flat rate: where the advertiser and publisher agree on a fixed amount that will be paid for each click. Typically this happens when publishers have a fixed rate for PPC in different areas on their website.
  • Bid-based: where the advertiser competes against other advertisers in an advertising network. In this case, each advertiser sets a maximum spend to pay for a given ad spot, so the ad will stop appearing on a given website once that amount of money is spent. It also means that the more people that click on your ad, the lower PPC you'll pay and vice versa.

(Learn more about getting started with PPC here.)

71. Pinterest

Pinterest is a visual social network typically used by ecommerce marketers, but not without its fair share of top-notch B2B and B2C content marketers. Businesses and consumers alike use the website to post images and photos they like so fellow users can repin (share) that content.

Not every company has taken advantage of this site yet. If you're one of them, we advise you check out this free guide to Pinterest for business.)

72. PPC

PPC, (or Pay-Per-Click) is an advertising technique in which an advertiser puts an ad in an advertising venue (like Google AdWords or Facebook), and pays that venue each time a visitor clicks on the ad. I couldn’t think of anything witty to place at the end of this definition, so let’s move on to “Q.”


73. Qualified Lead

A contact that opted in to receive communication from your company, became educated about your product or service, and is interested in learning more. Marketing and Sales often have two different versions of qualified leads (MQLs for Marketing, and SQLs for Sales), so be sure to have conversations with your sales team to set expectations for the types of leads you plan to hand over.

74. QR Code

A QR code (abbreviated from Quick Response code) is a specific matrix barcode (or two-dimensional code) that is readable by dedicated QR barcode readers and camera telephones. The code consists of black modules arranged in a square pattern on a white background. The information encoded may be text, URL, or other data. It also starts with “Q,” which is a rarity with marketing-related terms. (Learn how to create a QR Code here.)


75. Responsive Design

This is the practice of developing a website that adapts accordingly to how someone is viewing it. Instead of building a separate, distinct website for each specific device it could be viewed on, the site recognizes the device that your visitor is using and automatically generates a page that is responsive to the device the content is being viewed on — making websites always appear optimized for screens of any dimension. (Learn how responsive design works here.)

76. Return on Investment (ROI)

A performance measure used to evaluate the efficiency and profitability of an investment, or to compare the efficiency and profitability of multiple investments. The formula for ROI is: (Gain from Investment minus Cost of Investment), all divided by (Cost of Investment). The result is expressed as a percentage or ratio. If ROI is negative, then that initiative is losing the company money. The calculation can vary depending on what you input for gains and costs.

Today, marketers want to measure the ROI on every tactic and channel they use. Many facets of marketing have pretty straightforward ROI calculations (like PPC), but others are more difficult (like content marketing).

77. Retweet

A re-posting of a tweet posted by another user on Twitter. Retweets look like normal tweets except for the retweet icon. They can be done in three ways:

1) You can retweet an entire tweet by clicking the retweet button, indicated below.

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2) You can post a new tweet that includes your own commentary. In a new tweet, which also features the original tweet. It means you've pressed the rotating arrow icon to retweet a post, and then added a comment in the text box provided. We prefer this method of retweeting because it allows you to add your own thoughts. (Note: The retweet takes up 24 characters, leaving you with 116 characters for the comment.)

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3) You can post a new tweet that includes your own commentary in addition to the information you're retweeting. The formula is this: Your own commentary + RT + the original tweeter's Twitter handle + colon + the exact text from their original tweet. This method of retweeting allows you to add your own thoughts, but with a very limited character count.

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When you see "Please RT" in someone's tweet, it means they are requesting that their followers retweet that tweet to spread awareness. (Learn more about retweets here.)


78. Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

The practice of enhancing where a webpage appears in search results. By adjusting a webpage's on-page SEO elements and influencing off-page SEO factors, an inbound marketer can improve where a webpage appears in search engine results.

There are a ton of components to improving the SEO of your site pages. Search engines look for elements including title tags, keywords, image tags, internal link structure, and inbound links — and that's just to name a few. Search engines also look at site structure and design, visitor behavior, and other external, off-site factors to determine how highly ranked your site should be in the search engine results pages. (Learn more about SEO here.)

79. Sender Score

An email marketing term that refers to a reputation rating from 0-100 for every outgoing mail server IP address. Mail servers will check your Sender Score before deciding what to do with your emails. A score of over 90 is good. (Learn more about sender score and email deliverability here.)

80. Service Level Agreement (SLA)

For marketers, an SLA is an agreement between a company's sales and marketing teams that defines the expectations Sales has for Marketing and vice versa. The Marketing SLA defines expectations Sales has for Marketing with regards to lead quantity and lead quality, while the Sales SLA defines the expectations Marketing has for Sales on how deeply and frequently Sales will pursue each qualified lead.

SLAs exist to align sales and marketing. If the two departments are managed as separate silos, the system fails. For companies to achieve growth and become leaders in their industries, it is critical that these two groups be properly integrated. Learn how to create an SLA here.

81. Small-to-Medium Business (SMB)

Usually defined as companies that have between 10 and 500 employees.

82. Smarketing

A fun phrase used to refer to the practice of aligning Sales and Marketing efforts. In a perfect world, marketing would pass off tons of fully qualified leads to the sales team, who would then subsequently work every one of those leads enough times to close them 100% of the time. But since this isn't always how the cookie crumbles, it’s important for Marketing and Sales to align efforts to impact the bottom line the best they can through coordinated communication. (Download our free guide to unifying your sales and marketing efforts here.)

83. Snapchat

A social app that allows users to send and receive time-sensitive photos and videos known as "snaps," which are hidden from the recipients once the time limit expires. (Note: Images and videos still remain on the Snapchat server). Users can add text and drawings to their snaps and control the list of recipients in which they send them to.

A Snapchat story is a string of Snapchats that lasts for 24 hours. Users can create stories to be shared with all Snapchatters or just a customized group of recipients. (Learn more about how businesses are using Snapchat here.)

84. Social Media

Social media is media designed to be disseminated through social interaction, created using highly accessible and scalable publishing techniques. Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn and Google+ are examples of social media networks that one can join for personal or business use. Social Media is a core component of Inbound, as it provides marketers with additional channels to spread reach, increase growth, and reach business goals.

85. Social Proof

Social proof refers to a psychological phenomenon in which people seek direction from those around them to determine how they are supposed to act or think in a given situation. It's like when you see a really long line outside a nightclub and assume that club is really good because it's in such high demand. In social media, social proof can be identified by the number of interactions a piece of content receives or the number of followers you have. The idea is that if others are sharing something or following someone, it must be good. (Learn some tips for adding social proof to your landing pages here.)

86. Software-as-a-Service (SaaS)

Any software that is hosted by another company, which stores your information in the cloud. Examples: HubSpot, Salesforce, IM clients, and project management applications. (Here are some examples of SaaS companies with exceptional marketing.)


87. Top of the Funnel

Sometimes called “TOFU”, top of the funnel refers to the very first stage of the buying process. Leads at this stage are just identifying a problem that they have and are looking for more information. As such, an inbound marketer will want to create helpful content that aids leads in identifying this problem and providing next steps toward a solution. TOFU is also very tasty in certain Thai dishes.

88. Twitter

For the sake of creativity, I’ll define Twitter in 140 characters or less: "Twitter is a platform that allows users to share 140-character long messages publicly. User can follow one another and be followed back." There you have it — a tweetable definition of Twitter.


89. Unique Visitor

A person who visits a website more than once within a period of time. Marketers use this term in contrast with overall site visits to track the amount of traffic on their website. If only one person visits a webpage 30 times, then that web page has one UV and 30 total site visits.

90. URL

This is short for Uniform Resource Locator. I honestly didn’t know that before writing this definition. Basically, this is the address of a piece of information that can be found on the web such as a page, image, or document (ex. URLs are important for on-page SEO, as search engines scour the included text when mining for keywords. If a keyword you’re looking to get indexed for is in the URL, you’ll get brownie points from search engines (but no real brownies, unfortunately).

91. User Experience (UX)

The overall experience a customer has with a particular business, from their discovery and awareness of the brand all the way through their interaction, purchase, use, and even advocacy of that brand. To deliver an excellent customer experience, you have to think like a customer, or better, think about being the customer. Learn more here.

92. User Interface (UI)

A type of interface that allows users to control a software application or hardware device. A good user interface provides a user-friendly experience by allowing the user to interact with the software or hardware in an intuitive way. It includes a menu bar, toolbar, windows, buttons, and so on. Learn how to create a user-friendly website registration process here.


93. Viral Content

This term is used to describe a piece of content that has become wildly popular across the web through sharing. Oftentimes, folks don’t know a piece they’re creating will be viral until it actually does, which is usually unfortunate if it’s particularly embarrassing.


94. Website

A website is a set of interconnected webpages, usually including a homepage, generally located on the same server, and prepared and maintained as a collection of information by a person, group, or organization. An inbound marketer should structure a website like a dynamic, multi-dimensional entity that can be used to attract relevant website visitors, convert those visitors into leads, and close those leads into customers. Otherwise, it’s just a brochure — and let’s be honest — could you really use another brochure?

95. Word-of-Mouth (WOM)

The passing of information from person to person. Technically, the term refers to oral communication, but today it refers to online communication, as well. WOM marketing is inexpensive, but it takes work and involves leveraging many components of inbound marketing like product marketing, content marketing, and social media marketing. (Learn more about creating a powerful WOM marketing strategy here.)

96. Workflow

A workflow is another way to describe a lead nurturing campaign. It’s a set of triggers and events that move a lead through the nurturing process. A workflow can also serve other purposes, such as adjust contact properties on a lead record based on certain conditions, or adding a contact record to a certain list. Regardless of how you use it, workflows can be a very powerful asset in an inbound marketing strategy.


97. XML Sitemap

We couldn’t leave “X” out of the party! An XML sitemap is a file of code that lives on your web server and lists all of the relevant URLs that are in the structure of your website. It's kind of like a "floor plan" for the site, which especially comes in handy whenever the site gets changed. It also helps search engine web crawlers determine the structure of the site so they can crawl it more intelligently.

Sitemaps don't guarantee all links will be crawled, and being crawled does not guarantee indexing. However, a sitemap is still the best insurance for getting a search engine to learn about your entire site. It’s sort of like saying “Hey, Google — check out this fine website.” (Learn more about XML sitemaps and how to create one here.)


98. YouTube

YouTube is a video-sharing website on which users can upload, share, and view videos. Three former PayPal employees created YouTube in February 2005. In November 2006, YouTube, LLC was bought by Google Inc. for $1.65 billion, and is now operated as a subsidiary of Google. YouTube is the largest video-sharing site in the world and you’re probably on it now instead of finishing up this post.


99. Zilch

We couldn’t think of anything for "Z." So I ask you dear readers: What inbound marketing related topic should we define that begins with the letter "Z"?

How to Run an Inbound Marketing Campaign

 How to Run an Inbound Marketing Campaign

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